DUI Penalties in Los Angeles, CA

Don't plead guilty! Contact Stephen G. Rodriguez & Partners first.

If you were recently arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Los Angeles, or anywhere else in California, it is imperative that you move quickly to retain the help of a formidable criminal defense attorney. A drunk driving conviction could result in a number of serious penalties, depending on the specifics of your case. For this reason, you shouldn't waste any time in contacting Stephen G. Rodriguez & Partners. With more than 70 years of experience, we are the ones that you will want on your side.

The Penalties for Misdemeanor DUI in California

The penalties associated with a DUI conviction will vary, depending on several different factors. The circumstances surrounding your arrest, the results of your breath or blood test and the number of times you have previously been convicted of drunk driving will all factor into your final sentence. DUI is a "priorable" offense in California, which means that the penalties will increase with each subsequent offense.

The penalties for a first DUI offense may include:

  • Up to six months in county jail (minimum of 48 hours)
  • Between $390 and $1,000 in fines plus penalty assessments
  • Suspension of your driver's license for six to ten months
  • Enrollment in an alcohol and drug education program
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
  • Summary, or informal, probation for up to three years.

The penalties for a second DUI offense may include:

  • Up to one year in county jail (minimum of 96 hours)
  • Up to $1,000 in fines plus penalty assessments
  • Suspension of your driver's license for two years
  • Enrollment in an alcohol and drug education program
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
  • Summary, or informal, probation for up to five years.

The penalties for a third DUI offense may include:

  • Up to one year in county jail (minimum of 120 days)
  • Up to $1,000 in fines plus penalty assessments
  • Suspension of your driver's license for three years
  • Enrollment in an alcohol and drug education program
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
  • Summary, or informal, probation for up to five years.

The Penalties for Felony DUI in California

Although DUI offenses are typically prosecuted as misdemeanors in California, you could face felony charges if you are arrested for a fourth, or subsequent, DUI offense. Similarly, you could be charged with a felony offense if you cause an accident that results in injury or death to another person—even if it is your first DUI offense. This will result in much harsher penalties, including time served in a state prison.

The penalties for a fourth DUI offense may include:

  • Up to three years in state prison (minimum of 16 months)
  • Up to $1,000 in fines plus penalty assessments
  • Suspension of your driver's license for four years
  • Enrollment in an alcohol and drug education program
  • Designation has a "habitual traffic offender" by the DMV
  • Possible seizure, or forfeiture, of your motor vehicle.

Factors that Could Lead to Enhanced Sentencing

The penalties listed above are for standard DUI offenses. If certain aggravating factors are present in your case, you could face enhanced legal penalties. Some of these "aggravating factors" include:

  • You refused to submit to chemical testing
  • Your blood alcohol content was .20% or greater
  • You caused an accident while under the influence
  • You were driving recklessly or at excessive speeds
  • A child under the age of 14 was in the car

Hire a Firm with 70+ Years of Criminal Law Experience

When you work with the Los Angeles DUI lawyers at Stephen G. Rodriguez & Partners, you can trust that we will fight aggressively to have the charges against you reduced or even dropped. If this is not possible, we will work diligently to secure a "not guilty" verdict at trial. We can also challenge the suspension of your driver's license at your DMV hearing. For this reason, we encourage you to get started today.

Your initial consultation won't cost you a thing when you contact us today!