Annoying or Molesting a Minor Charge in Los Angeles
Strategic Defense from a Los Angeles Criminal Defense Lawyer
While it is a widely known fact that inappropriate contact with a minor
under the age of 18 is illegal, what is less well known is that physical
contact is not required to be found guilty of annoying or molesting a
child. In many cases, words alone can be enough to put people in legal trouble.
California Penal Code Section 647.6 makes it a crime to annoy or molest
a child under the age of 18. Prosecutors must be able to prove these four
elements in order to convict the defendant:
- The defendant must have engaged in some form of contact directed at a person
under the age of 18
- A reasonable person would have been offended, irritated, injured, or disturbed
by the conduct of the defendant
- The conduct of the defendant was motivated by an abnormal or unnatural
interest in the minor
- The child was under the age of 18 when the conduct occurred
The terms of “annoy” and “molest” refer to crimes
against children and suggest an act committed by the defendant as a disturbing
and irritating act motivated by an unusual and bizarre sexual interest
Examples of annoying and molesting behavior include:
- James offers to show pornography to his girlfriend's 11-year-old son
- Mark asks his son's girlfriend, 15 years old, whether she likes to have sex
- Johnny sits outside his son's school and watches the young teenage
girls walk by as he makes offensive sexual remarks to the girls and grabs
- Matt goes to the local water park and takes photographs specifically of
children's buttocks as they play in the water
Penalties for Annoying or Molesting a Child
Annoying or molesting a child is a misdemeanor in California. Individuals
charged with this crime may face up to one year in jail and a fine of
$5,000. These penalties are increased when aggravating factors are present.
A felony conviction or any subsequent offenses could result in up to three
years in prison. Those with previous, related criminal convictions, including
rape of a minor under the age of 16, lewd acts with a minor, continuous
sexual abuse of a minor, or possession of
child pornography can result in a six-year prison sentence. Under California Penal Code
Section 290 PC, a conviction for annoying and molesting a child requires
lifetime sex offender registration.
Some legal defenses can be used against charges of annoying or molesting
a child. These include:
- The alleged misconduct was not likely to irritate or disturb a minor
- The alleged misconduct was not motivated by a sexual interest
- The child was manipulated or “coached” into making the accusation.
A false accusation can ruin a person’s overall reputation, relationships,
and career, and a conviction can rob a person of their freedom and future
prospects. If you are facing allegations for annoying or molesting a child,
you should contact a Los Angeles criminal defense lawyer immediately.
By acting quickly (before you speak to law enforcement) you can provide yourself with the representation you need to defend your
rights and safeguard your future.
Experience matters in these types of cases. Stephen G. Rodriguez &
Partners has over 70 years of combined legal experience handling
sex crimes. Our ability to thoroughly analyze cases and prepare strong defenses has
made our firm well-known and respected and has allowed us to secure excellent
results for our clients.
To learn more about how Stephen G. Rodriguez & Partners may be able
to help your case, call us today for a confidential,
free consultation: (213) 481-6811.