Marijuana Legalization Lawyers in Los Angeles
California Proposition 64
On November 9, 2016, Californians voted and approved Prop 64 which legalized
the recreational use of
marijuana. Prop 64 eliminated the criminal consequences for the personal possession
and cultivation of marijuana by persons over 21 years of age. It also
reduced the punishment for many marijuana offenses and allowed for reduced
penalties of specific marijuana offenses for prior offenders.
What is Lawful Under Prop 64?
- It permits adults (21 years or older) to lawfully use, possess, transport,
purchase, consume, or share up to 28.5 grams (1 ounce) of marijuana, and
up to 8 grams of concentrated marijuana (Cannabis);
- It permits adults (21 years or older) to grow and cultivate 6 marijuana
plants in each residence as long as the plants are inside the residence
and out of public view;
- It permits the sale of marijuana by state-licensed vendors only;
- It permits persons previously convicted and sentenced of certain marijuana
offenses to go back to court and get re-sentenced to obtain a reduced
charge or lesser sentence.
What Is Unlawful Under Prop 64?
- You may not consume or use marijuana in public. Using or consuming marijuana
in public is an infraction (like a traffic ticket) that can be penalized
with a $100 fine.
- You cannot smoke or “vape” any marijuana product in any location
that has been deemed a non-smoking location, such as restaurants and most
businesses. Smoking marijuana within 1000 feet of a school, daycare or
youth center (while children are present) are also prohibited.
- Possessing marijuana in an open container, or using marijuana, while operating
a vehicle or sitting in a moving vehicle.
- Anyone under the age of 21 caught with less than one ounce of concentrated
marijuana (cannabis) is subject to a $100.00 fine. If the person is under
18 years of age, they are subject to mandatory drug counseling or community
service as well as a $100.00 fine.
- You cannot produce a marijuana product using a “volatile solvent”
– essentially bars the production of any cannabis drug with unnatural
- It remains illegal to purchase marijuana products without a medical prescription
- Possession of more than 28.5 grams (1 ounce) of marijuana.
New Penalties Under Prop 64 For Marijuana Offenses
Prop 64 reduced the penalties for certain marijuana offenses. For example:
Possession of up to 28.5 grams of marijuana was previously charged as an infraction under Health &
Safety Code 11357. Under Prop 64 it is now
legal for adults 21 years and older;
Possession of more than 28.5 grams (1 ounce) of marijuana was previously a misdemeanor (Health & Safety Code 11357)
punishable by up to 6 months in county jail and/or a $500.00 fine. After
Prop 64, it is still the
same – a misdemeanor. For juveniles (under 18) it was previously charged
as a misdemeanor with a maximum of 6 months in county jail. After Prop
64, the first offense is an infraction with 8 hours of drug counseling
and up to 40 hours of community service. With any additional infractions,
there is 10 hours of drug education and up to 60 hours of community service.
Possession of up to 4 grams of Concentrated Marijuana (Cannabis) was previously charged as a misdemeanor under Health &
Safety Code 11357 punishable by up to 1 year in county jail. After Prop
64 it is now legal for adults 21 years and older to possess up to 8 grams
of Cannabis. Possessing more than 8 grams is a misdemeanor punishable
by up to 6 months in county jail and a fine of $500;
Possession with Intent to Sell Marijuana (Health & Safety Code 11359) was previously prosecuted as a felony
punishable by up to 3 years in prison. After the passage of Prop 64 it
is now a misdemeanor for most adults 21 years and older. The penalties
as a misdemeanor are up to 6 months in county jail and a $500.00 fine.
However, marijuana possession for sale can still be charged as a felony
for those adults who have two prior misdemeanor convictions for marijuana
possession for sale; or the marijuana for sale was intended for persons
under 18 years of age; or the person selling the marijuana has a prior
serious felony (strike) conviction. The maximum penalty for a felony is
16 months to 3 years in prison.
Sales of Marijuana (Health & Safety Code 11360) was previously charged as a felony with
a maximum sentence of 4 years in state prison. Under Prop 64, it is now
a misdemeanor for adults 18 and older with a maximum sentence of 6 months
in county jail. It can be charged as a felony if the adult has a prior
“strike;” has two prior convictions for sales; or if the sale
or attempted sale was to a person under 18 years of age.
Cultivation of Marijuana (Health & Safety Code 11358) of 6 marijuana plants or less was previously
charged as a felony punishable by up to 3 years in prison. Under Prop
64, it is legal for adults 21 years and older to cultivate 6 plants or
less. It is an infraction for persons 18 to 20 years of age that comes
with a $100.00 fine.
more than 6 Marijuana Plants (Health & Safety Code 11358) was previously charged as a felony. After
Prop 64, it is charged as a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in
county jail with a $500 fine;
Transportation, Distribution, or Importing
of marijuana (Health & Safety Code 11360) was a felony prior to Prop 64. After
Prop 64, it is a misdemeanor for most adults punishable by up to 6 months
in county jail and a fine. However, transportation of marijuana will still
be a felony for those adults transporting the marijuana who have a prior
“strike” conviction; have two or more prior convictions for
transportation or sale of marijuana; or have previously attempted to sell
or furnish marijuana to a minor (under 18 years of age); or who have previously
transported or attempted to transport more than an ounce of marijuana
or more than 4 grams of concentrated marijuana.
Prop 64 also created Health & Safety Code section 11362.3 which enumerates various
uses of marijuana which are all infractions. These infractions are subject to fines from
$150 to $250. These infractions include:
Smoking in public;
smoking within 1000 feet of a school;
day care or youth center;
possess an open container of marijuana while driving
riding in a vehicle.
Reduction & Expungement of Marijuana Offenses
Individuals with certain prior marijuana convictions are now eligible under
Prop 64 to reduce their conviction from a felony to a misdemeanor and
from a misdemeanor to an infraction through the expungement process. Prop
64 also allows defendants who are currently serving a sentence in jail
or state prison to petition the original sentencing judge for a reduction
or dismissal of the sentence and to be resentenced under the new Prop
64. In cases where the defendant has completed the sentence, he or she
may request the court to reclassify the conviction as a misdemeanor or
infraction and have the prior offense expunged or dismissed.
The eligible offenses for reduction and expungement include the following:
- Health and Safety Code 11357 (Possession);
- Health and Safety Code 11358 (Cultivation);
- Health and Safety Code 11359 (Possession with intent to sell); and
- Health and Safety Code11360 (Sales, Transportation, Giving away of marijuana
Los Angeles Criminal Lawyers with Over 70 Years of Experience
As experienced Los Angeles criminal defense attorneys, we understand that
having a drug conviction on your record can negatively impact your life.
Employers, financial institutions, landlords, colleges/universities, former
spouses, business associates and others can easily perform
background checks that could put you and your future at risk. Additionally, having a
drug conviction on your record could result in a harsher sentence if you were to pick
up a new drug case.
At Stephen G. Rodriguez & Partners, our Los Angeles criminal defense
attorneys are well aware of the changes brought about by California Proposition
64. If you would like to see if you can have your charge or sentenced
reduced, your probation terminated, old convictions reduced and expunged,
or explore other ways to
clean up your criminal record, please feel free to
contact our team at your first opportunity. You can also schedule a
free initial consultation by calling